A Not So Turkish Life

SOCS – Round Square

This morning as my husband and father-in-law played with my eldest downstairs and I planned for our Thursday trip to visit my family, I sat with hot coffee in my hand and browsed the Facebook pages of those who are treasured in my life and sat pondering this quote while my treatfully hot coffee cooled

here's to the crazy ones


Do we really want our children to sit out of the pegs?

Yes, I do. I want my children to believe that they can be a square instead of round in a world that’s dictated.

I want them to trust that their thoughts can differ from the rest and that this in itself is a blessing.

I want them to trust their own instincts

to follow their own hearts

even if their hearts’ end up breaking.

I want them to know the status quo exists only if you say so

and I want them to know it’s ok to be themselves.

But for all of that I want them to remember that sometimes being square is easier in a circle.

UBUNTU

An anthropologist proposed a game to the kids in an African tribe. He put a basket full of fruit near a tree and told the kids that who ever got there first won the sweet fruits. When he told them to run they all took each others hands and ran together, then sat together enjoying their treats. When he asked them why they had run like that as one could have had all the fruits for himself they said: ”UBUNTU, how can one of us be happy if all the other ones are sad?”
‘UBUNTU’ in the Xhosa culture means: “I am because we are”

This entry was published on 02/17/2013 at 13:25. It’s filed under From Me to You, Stream of Conciousness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “SOCS – Round Square

  1. This post was magical. I am a happy mother of 2 square pegs, one that’s obsessed with music and science and another, who’s 2 mind you, and can’t get enough of fashion. I can see that they’ll always be square pegs, and that’s OK with me. I know as a mom, that my job will be to not get them to sit in the round holes, but to show them how to shaped that whole to fit them as they are.

  2. I agree with all of this. Adding that I feel it’s a parent’s job to teach respect of others — even when others are following the status quo. We all should be feel confident enough to be different but realizing our individual happiness is not the utmost thing. Sometimes that is sacrificed for the good of another.

    • Of course! Respect should underline everything we teach them, I guess I just don’t want them to forget to respect themselves in the face of not being the same.

Leave a Reply

