A Not So Turkish Life

Just lick the spoon! Brownies

One of the surprises parenting has brought me is the reality that if I’m going to get through this and come out the other side (relatively) unscathed I’m going to need to develop nerves of steel – and fast. Already M thinks himself a teenager and runs helterskelter across the playground to not only the highest but also most vertical slide he can find, positively squeals with delight if he finds himself on a platform out of arms reach whereon he can spin round and round until dizziness sends him to his bottom with a thump. He jumps between sofas and pushes chairs to reach the too-tall cupboards he would like to climb upon were my eyes off him for a second or two more. Every single day of this most wonderful journey there is at least one moment when my heart stops, my stomach sits in my throat and I have to find the balance, in a millisecond, between reeling him into the safety net of me and letting him find his boundaries to learn for himself. And most days, though hairs daily now turn grey, I manage to hold myself back from reigning him in, standing just close enough to be there should he tumble and hurt yet far enough away he may well feel he’d tumble far. So why then did it take more restraint on my behalf to leave him be with raw brownie batter than leaving him to climb up a rotten wall?

Chocolate Logic Brownies

50g butter
85g bitter chocolate
1 cup flour
1/2tsp baking powder
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup of chopped nuts/milk chocolate chunks/dried fruit

Melt the butter with bitter chocolate and leave to cool.
Whisk the eggs and sugar together until light and fluffy, or the whisk leaves trails behind itself
Fold in the flour until just disappeared
Mix in the nuts/chocolate/dried fruit and pour into a pan/muffin containers.
Bake @ 170 until the top turns crispy and leave to cool ten minutes.
Lick the spoon.

(Brownie tip : Using a metal spoon to fold in the flour & stir in chocolate/nuts will keep the brownies lighter)

This entry was published on 11/06/2012 at 05:18. It’s filed under Food to Feed a Soul and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Just lick the spoon! Brownies

  1. I woke up this morning (after Anton and I ate these brownies last night) thinking that I must ask you for the recipe, so I was really happy to see this!

Leave a Reply

