A Not So Turkish Life

My Body: My Choice

The past few years I’ve often felt voiceless against issues of politics or ethics or religion. As an expat, it feels I’ve forgone my right to critique the governing body and society of my birthland, yet haven’t quite earned the right to do so for the country of my adopted homeland; as a liberal pro-choice muslim, ethics and religion are often too conflicting to enter into casual debate about. I critique of course, question both myself and the issues themselves, but not so vocally, or publically as I once would have. It’s not apathy that’s set in, but a resignation to the fact that not there nor here is mine to criticise. However, no matter where I reside or what I believe and practise, I remain a human being and if anything, or anyone is going to attempt to remove my basic rights being human affords me, I will stand up and shout at the top of my lungs.

If there’s one thing I hope my sons learn about me, and from me, is to be pro-choice, in every aspect of life. I believe in giving people the freedom to express the autonomy God granted us and to stand by the decisions, the choices, the judgements they make. I hope as my sons grow I manage to do my job as I see it; not to judge their decisions, but enable them to judge themselves and fight for their continued right to do so.

And just as it’s not for me to judge my sons decisions autonomously made, it is not for anyone else to tell me, or any woman who may cross my sons paths, what to do with my body or theirs.

This month, the Turkish government is proposing a bill which would effectively remove the access to legal abortion for women in Turkey. Being opposed to this bill is not a question of my personal beliefs about abortion. Being opposed to this bill does not conflict with my religious beliefs. Being opposed to this bill does not make me anti-AKP. Being opposed to this law does not make me pro-abortion or anti-contraception.

Being opposed to this bill simply makes me a human being adding my voice to a campaign to ensure other human beings are not denied their right to make autonomous decisions over their body.

If you feel like I do, and want to add your voice too, the site to do so is here.

This entry was published on 06/03/2012 at 10:20. It’s filed under Externalise, Istanbul, Life and Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “My Body: My Choice

  1. Pingback: Sit at the table with me. | A Not So Turkish Life

Leave a Reply

