A Not So Turkish Life

When sleep evades

This photo captures the morning’s mood, little man

20120404-083929.jpg

You’re not asleep down there, just lazing, trying perhaps to understand why last night brought no sleep. The morning’s just started yet already there are yawns, and not just from me!

20120404-084122.jpg

It may have been teeth causing your discomfort through dark, it may have been the too short nap yesterday upsetting your rhythm, i can’t tell. Whatever it was, MKM, though today I’m hugging coffee, I’m grateful for it slightly. Last night, while the world slept in dream, I sat and hugged my child, so very very tightly. Hugged him closer than his new-found toddler independence exploration need allows to be held in daylight hours. I nestled into his neck, felt the beating of his heart and, between his yawns, memory-banked the contented, peaceful sighs he gave as he felt my heart against his. And every now and then, his brother kicked too, my two baby boys, awake as though day, lighting my sun against the moon. Alhamduillah. Alhamduillah.

This entry was published on 04/04/2012 at 05:50. It’s filed under Baby 'n' Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

