A Not So Turkish Life

A song a day

It’s been hard to find the focus recently. Before I started this blog I thought long and hard about how much of me I should share online, about whether to write annonymously or put a face behind the text. It’s all too easy nowadays for offline and online worlds collide. We use hashtags on twitter and tags in our blogs..all it takes is for one random click to lead that not so random stranger directly to your space. That person could be a colleague, a neighbour, even the person about whom the words are written. It’s not only been a case of not finding the focus, but of finding the guts for the words to be read.

I blog because I need a space to put it all… precious moments spent with my son..blessing and curses of life abroad-home…the ups and downs of marriage and love. I need a space to write of family, of me; of religion and politics; to document those failed attempts at crafts and arts on my Martha-esque journey to housewife godessness… I need a space to accomodate the whole of me. Someplace I can scream irrationally, rant incessently and cry rivers of tears; a space where laughter can be frozen and smiles rediscovered. I need a space for the best of me, a space for the worst of me.

There’s been a challenge doing the Facebook rounds of late: Thirty days, thirty categories, thirty songs chosen by you to fit to the criteria. I’m really, really bad with song names. And I’m really bad with matching lyrics to the songs to the artists. Finding the right songs for the right categories for the right day may be a challenge. But I figure, thirty days of songs might be enough to kick start the focus, to overcome the fear. So starting tomorrow, it’s a song a day, and for today – to ease me in – a song that seems so apt, so real, so where I am right now…

This entry was published on 04/18/2011 at 11:58. It’s filed under Externalise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

