A Not So Turkish Life

Privileged Position

Going by the date on the back of the postcard, it was 10 years ago – which makes logical sense, though it seems so much longer… My Religious Education teacher, a wonderful woman who was to have a dramatic influence in my life, had on the walls of the classroom, overlapping and with no logic or order, quotes, inspirational phrases, pictures. One of them, unremarkable in its simplicity and almost lost amongst the Martin Luthers’ caught my eye. For no reason in particular it drew me in. Those classroom walls, covered as much with ‘art’ so as to disguise the dodgy, faded paintwork as to inspire raucous 16 year olds, would become a haven of sorts and so it was strange to realise today that somehow, that postcard had somehow survived to follow me through boarding school, an Asian adventure, and finally the moving of a life to a country unlike my own. I found the postcard tonight on G’s desk. It had been trimmed, he’d needed card and this had obviously been close to hand. He didn’t realise the significance of the postcard, obviously, and neither had I. That postcard has been with me through monumental changes in my life – I can picture it in every place I’ve called “home”, in every bag I’ve packed. And each time I read it, I’m straight back in school; a 16 year old striving to figure it out, trying to find her own “Privileged Position”; too young to see it’s not a place, but a sense of being, a belief in the one thing that classroom tried to convey. Whether you use the name God or Allah, believe in the trinity or Prophet Mohammed (peace and blessings be upon him); no matter what you believe the most privileged position is when you’re able to say, I believe. There is only one God and he guides my path.
“La ilaha ill ‘Allah.”

(for longevity – just in case)

Priviliged Position – Catherine Orr

Sitting behind people in the bus
you notice eye lashes –
how long they are
and the way earrings pin
and the bristly route
the clippers took,
and the pluke.

It’s a private view
in a public place.
Motorists miss it,
the most illicit
chance to inspect
that most vulnerable part
the back of the neck.
It’s a position of maximum trust
sitting behind anyone in a bus.

This entry was published on 02/25/2011 at 21:13. It’s filed under Externalise, Life and Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

